Reverse Engineer a Native Video

Standard

It was my desire to have the opportunity to “Reverse Engineer a Native Video” on Celiac Disease, but interestingly enough, I could not find anything that was worthy of analyzing. This was very disappointing as I’m trying to get as much experience and research on other Celiac disease websites as possible. At this point I decided I would just peruse my Facebook account wall, but almost came up empty there too. Its always when you really need something, that you can’t seem to find it. I ended up finding the video below, which really captivated my attention. I love country music, so it was right up my alley. These reverse engineering projects definitely help strengthen our understanding in regards to the graphic design principles, and also the seascape principles. I’m loving that I’m becoming quick to see principles that are not being utilize properly, so that I can avoid making those same errors in my own designs.

Toby Video

Overall, I felt like they did a pretty good job with the production and design of this video.

Toby Video Reverse Engineering

The gold lines represent the great job they did utilizing the “Rule of Thirds” principle. Toby’s face is almost exactly right in the upper, left quadrant. His positioning really helps with the overall design of the frame, and assists with helping the eye draw attention to both him and the text in the right quadrant. Good positioning allowed for plenty of room for other very important content.

The purple represents the typography in the frame. I thought they did a pretty good job with the placement of the typography. I found that my eyes go right to it, so I know immediately who and what the video is about. Additionally, I liked the font they used, and think they did a great job with sizing Toby’s name, but I was not super thrilled with how they showcased the tour title. I think they should have included “Tour” in the blue color scheme. Also, I would have liked them to have had the tour title extended all the way to the “Y,” to give it better alignment, it feels like it is just hanging there.

The blue lines represent the frames contrast. This frame does not have start contrast, but I really like it. Anyone that knows Toby, understands that he is a very patriotic person and loves his country, this is very well represented. The colors exert a vibe of serious patriotism, strong nationalism, and great country music. I love the old heritage, antiquish vibe to the colors of the flag.

As far as the seascape principles, I think the following have been utilized quite well. The Presentation Principle, The Principle of Least Resistance, The Attention Principle, and The Principle of Expectation. Toby is definitely presenting a strong vibe that this is the video to watch if you are ready to listen to some down home, country music. People who visit this video have an expectation of hearing great country music, and getting some information on where and when they can see Toby in concert. Its visitors would be quite frustrated if this video did not deliver such information, so lucky for us it did. For sure, this is the path of least resistance. How easy it was for me to find out that Toby had a new concert tour happening. All I had to do was enjoy a little Facebook perusing, the next you know Toby’s video pops up, I click on it, and find out something I did not know, where and when Toby is on tour and how to find tickets. No energy exerted. The Attention Principle is a given, you can’t possibly be a famous singer without loving the attention, if you don’t, you are in the wrong business. I think this video frame is definitely an attention grabber, and all of its design is very intentional. It is all about saying, “Here I am,” come see me!

 

Leave a comment