Reverse Engineer a News Feed Post

Standard

Since my brand is Celiac Disease awareness, I thought it might be good to analyze a post that was in the same brand arena. I thought this would help give me ideas for my own brand, while also seeing what works and doesn’t work. You never know who is running the show behind the scenes with certain companies. Sometimes they are expert web designers, and sometimes someone gets called to duty without any experience, and has to either sink or swim.  I have seen this happen in my own current field. Are they just posting information, or are they trying make sure their posts are visually appealing and engaging?

I have to say, I think they did a pretty good job wheeling me in, and encouraging me to use this as my post to analyze. I feel like the post initially connects to its audience by making it very well know they have something very important and relevant to share. The image through its bold text, and strong call to action, encourages the visitor to want to know more. I definitely feel this post represents the principle of expectation. When I opened the link in the news feed, I definitely was not disappointed. I learned new and valuable information about Celiac Disease, info that for sure needs to be shared. All the information shared also represented well the value principle. There is no doubt that anyone who takes the time to read this post will find tremendous value in the data it shares, especially since it speaks of the long-term damage that is a result of a late diagnosis of the disease.

News Feed Assignment

My purple lines represent the Rule of Thirds, which I believe are well represented here. I think they did a great job purposefully placing their images and text, in order to bring great flow to the overall design. Placement assisted in helping the eyes immediately connect to the text, which is the most important piece in this feed.

As we can see with the text, it also had great alignment within the thirds, which was called out with the brown line. The text has beautiful alignment, and so gracefully fell into the Rule of Thirds, which resulted in a very eye catching arrangement.

The green lines represented what I found to be a great combination of text sizes, styles, and colors. The designer chose fonts that very well complimented each other, and followed the design principles. I don’t know if I was overly sold with the overall color scheme of the design, but it definitely had a nice flow, a good call to action, and was visually engaging.

News Feed Assignment copy

Leave a comment